Skip to content

Miller Zell Wins Gold, Two Silvers at ADDY Awards

ATLANTA, Feb. 23, 2024 — Miller Zell earned a Gold and two Silver awards at the American Advertising Awards Gala hosted by the Atlanta Ad Club at The Foundry on Thursday night.

All three awards were for our Citizens Bank Brand Activation at the New York City Marathon Expo.

Miller Zell won Gold for “Innovative Use of Interactive Technology” and Silver for “Augmented Reality” and “Mobile Interaction.”

Citizens, a foundation sponsor of the 2023 New York City Marathon in November, asked Miller Zell to design and execute a brand activation at the marathon expo, where every runner must visit to receive their race number. The experience would be viewed by an international audience of more than 120,000 visitors over three days at the Javits Center in Manhattan.

Miller Zell designed an immersive and multi-sensory “phygital” experience that, from floor to ceiling, tied each key component together:  the race, the city, the runners and Citizens.

Digital interaction played a key role in not only projecting Citizens as a digital-first bank, but in appealing to a global audience where nearly two-thirds of attendees were international travelers who were not fluent in English. The brand activation showcased technology and offered immersive social media engagement.

MZ - addy group shot B
22 Feb. 2024 - Atlanta, Georgia - Miller Zell and Citizens team at the American Advertising Awards Gala Hosted by the Atlanta Ad Club at The Foundry. Pictured from left: Chad McLeroy, Ryan Wagner, Chris Eigel, Sue Dowd, Paul Wolski, Denise Wolffs, Virginia Lewis, Craig Thompson and Chip Miller.

The Miller Zell team that designed, developed and executed the award-winning project includes: Paul Wolski, Virginia Lewis, Ryan Wagner, Chad McLeroy, Patrick Neff, Sue Dowd, Chris Eigel, Laura Waterworth, Jules Homesberger, Ryan McLaughlin, Tina Chher, Shelli Johannes-Wells, Gavin Holmes, David Woehst and Reggie Barton.

Our collaborators from Citizens includes: Denise Wolffs, Jeff McGrath, Amie Kershaw, Maura Bolduc, Christina Robbio and Ashley Tenbekjian. And special thanks goes out to Bluewater Tech and Captivatar for their important contributions.